Pupil Premium Awards 2016 – Regional Winner

Schools across the country which have helped improve the life chances of disadvantaged children were celebrated at the 2016 Pupil Premium Awards, held at the Drapers’ Hall, London on 12th May 2016.

SamGyimahThe winning schools were announced by Education and Childcare Minister, Sam Gyimah, who urged other schools to follow in their footsteps.

Caroline Chisholm School, a finalist and regional winner, has consistently shown significant rates of improvement among our disadvantaged pupils over time, and has demonstrated innovative and effective use of the pupil premium funding.

RegionalWinnerrThe pupil premium – worth £2.5 billion this year – has enabled schools to provide vital support to some of the most vulnerable children in their care. Figures show the attainment gap between disadvantaged pupils and their peers has narrowed since 2011, the year the pupil premium was introduced. Education and Childcare Minister Sam Gyimah said:

‘The winners of the 2016 Pupil Premium Awards have shown just what this funding can achieve for children from disadvantaged backgrounds, whether it is raising their confidence or developing key skills.

The winning schools deserve to be singled out for particular praise, but all of the finalists have shown innovative and effective uses of the funding. I hope more schools will take inspiration from what they have achieved today and follow in their footsteps.’

TeamThis year’s judging panel was made up of outstanding headteachers, including former award winners.

For the first time, the awards have been sponsored by a wide range of organisations from the arts, culture, science and technology sectors, which will provide Caroline Chisholm School with exciting and culturally enriching opportunities for pupils and teachers.



Caroline Chisholm School has shown an impressive level of innovation – choosing very personalised interventions, to ensure students have the best opportunities in the future.


For further details regarding the Pupil Premium funding, please refer to the school website: