Skip to content ↓


The staff at our school are committed to providing a safe place for all students, and a place where they can feel confident, have ambition and succeed.

The welfare of our students is paramount and at the centre of all we do.

Lisa West is our Designated Safeguarding Lead; Assistant Principal and our Senior Safeguarding Officers are Jenny Blaize and June Miller Chalk. 

The team is made up of Katherine Patterson and Nicola Cairns from Primary and all Progress Leads and Assistant Progress Leads across the secondary phase.  Our Attendance Officer and representatives from our DSP and Lead Learners departments complete the team. 

Our safeguarding team holds weekly meetings to ensure matters are dealt with expeditiously and within current guidelines.

Our safeguarding policy is centred around the fact that everyone has a responsibility to safeguard our school community, students and staff alike, and our staff receive regular training and updates.  Section 175 of the Education Act 2002 ensures our statutory duty is met promoting the welfare and safety of students and assisting in ensuring the best possible outcomes are achieved.

Child Protection is key to ensuring both the health and wellbeing of our students.  We work closely with colleagues from the Multi-Agency Safeguarding Hub to guarantee we protect our students who are at risk of or are suffering significant harm.

Reporting a safeguarding concern

If you have any concerns regarding any child or young person currently enrolled at our school, please email the Safeguarding Team on, or alternatively call our Designated Safeguarding Lead on 01604 264321.

For additional advice and support, please visit: NSPCC | The UK children's charity | NSPCC

Useful websites and resources:


CAMHS offers a free website that was created for young people, carers and professionals to pool together lots of helpful resources from across the internet that are available to help support your mental health and well-being.


CEOP is a law enforcement agency and is here to help keep children and young people safe from sexual abuse and grooming online. We help thousands of children and young people every year who have been in a similar situation to you. 


Childline is a counselling service for children and young people up to their 19th birthday in the United Kingdom provided by the NSPCC.

Family Lives

Family Lives provides a website which has a live chat line for parents and offers advice on mental health/eating disorders/body image etc.

Internet Matters

Internet Matters offers expert support and practical tips to help children benefit from connected technology and the internet safely and smartly.

They also have lots of online safety resources featuring our parents’ guides and a host of resources to support parents and teacher to help children stay safe online.


The National Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Children (NSPCC) are the UK's leading children’s charity campaigning and working in child protection.

They provide support and tips to help you keep children safe. From advice on children’s mental health to staying safe online, support for parents and what to do if you’re worried about a child.